Abena D. OduroAbena D. Oduro is the Co-Director Ghana. She is Associate Professor in the Department of Economics at the University of Ghana. Her main areas of research are poverty analysis, gender and assets, international trade policy, WTO issues and economics of education.







Gordon CrawfordGordon Crawford is the Co-Director Germany. He is an Honorary Professor at the University of Freiburg and a Research Professor in Global Development at Coventry University. His research interests include issues of human rights and democratization in development processes.






Andreas MehlerAndreas Mehler is the President of the Executive Council of MIASA. He is the Director of the Freiburg-based Arnold Bergstraesser Institute and Full Professor at the University of Freiburg. His research interests include post-conflict power sharing and security beyond the state in Africa.






Annika Hampel

Since June 2018, Annika Hampel is the Managing Director and Scientific Coordinator of the to be established Africa Centre at the University of Freiburg. She further acts as contact person between the University of Ghana in Accra, the University of Freiburg (represented by the Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institute - ABI and Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies - FRIAS) and other partners involved in building up and shaping the Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa. She received her doctorate with distinction at the Institute for Cultural Policy of the University of Hildesheim in 2014 for her thesis on international cooperation in culture, education, and science.





Academic Advisory Board

  • Catherine Boone (Professor of Comparative Politics, London School of Economics)
  • Andreas Eckert (Professor of African History, Humboldt University Berlin)
  • Ruth Hall (Professor at the Institute for Poverty, Land and Agrarian Studie (PLAAS), University of the Western Cap)
  • Elisio Macamo (Professor of African Studies, University of Basel)
  • Birgit Meyer (Professor of Religious Studies, Utrecht University)
  • Paul Nugent (Professor of Comparative African History and African Studies, University of Edinburgh)
  • Francis Nyamnjoh (Professor of Anthropology, University of Cape Town)
  • Fatou Sow (Professor, Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS), Université Paris Didérot/ Director, Réseau international de solidarité Women Living Under Muslim Laws, Dakar, Sénégal)
  • Zenebework Tadesse (Principal Vice-President, Ethiopian Academy of Sciences)
  • Ibrahima Thioub (Professor for African Studies, Department of History, University of Dakar/ Director of the African Center for Research on Slave Trade and Slavery (CARTE))
  • Leonard Wantchekon (Professor in the Politics Department/ Economics Department, Princeton University)
  • Björn Wittrock (Director, Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study)